▶ History vs. Christopher Columbus

Chris Columbus and Columbus Day have risen in public consciousness since the first time I saw anti-Columbus graffiti as an undergraduate. I fall enough into the “don’t just history by modern standards” camp that I’m not ready to pick up a pitchfork against CC just yet but I also absolutely believe that we need to be aware of what he accomplished and the impact of his history on the world, both good and bad. The following video does a great job of hitting both sides of this discussion with a pretty common sense perspective. And then there’s the argument for Bartolomé as well. I don’t know if the shining light on Bartlomé de las Casa is deserved or not, but it’s nice to think so.

 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Josh

     /  November 13, 2014

    I cam across this on Columbus day. None of it is cited (I wish it were) but I found it interesting to read anyhow.

    http://theoatmeal.com/comics/columbus_day

    Reply
  2. Josh

     /  November 13, 2014

    I take that back, sources are cited at the bottom. Interesting!

    Reply

Leave a comment