12.05.2013 Thursday

I’ve been a member of a few different online communities over the last 15 years with 2 in particular being my main hangouts. I don’t visit the first one very often any more and its really just a shadow of itself now, but there were some great friendships forged there, some of which continue to this day in meatspace.  The other one is a tech site that I initially only posted at for information on computers, but then I spread out and started to get involved with some of the gaming and social forums.  This year I joined up in the secret santa they run every year. My Santee is in Sweden and we sent them some pepper jelly from Pike Place Market, a Star Trek onesie (he’s a fan and has a baby due soon), and one of my favorite books, Cryptonomicon, for the kindle.  It was fun putting it together but holy sheesh is international shipping expensive.  For just a small box with 3 tiny jars of pepper jelly and a single piece of baby clothing, I wasn’t expecting it to be THAT expensive.

Speaking of Kindles, I lost mine a month or so ago when it fell out of my bag on public transit.  I did have a bunch of points saved up on my credit card so I cashed them in for Amazon gift cards. It took over a month for those cards to arrive, very disappointing performance by the Flexpoints redemption service, but then again, it’s free money, so I shouldn’t complain. I finally got the point cards and ordered a new Paperwhite with a mustard yellow case.  It’s nice to have it back but I’m not looking forward to reorganizing all of my titles. The touchscreen interface on Kindle’s e-ink sucks and it takes a long time to put books into folders, etc.  I had it mostly organized the way I wanted in my old one but this new one is sure to be just a big fat open directory of stuff that I’ll have to figure out.  I’ve got some collections that I bought via StoryBundle that I like to keep together and will have to go through all of those.  But again, this is some pretty lame sauce to be complaining about considering how good I’ve got it.

Finally, I was all excited to get together with some friends tonight and only remembered at the last minute that it’s NEXT Thursday, not tonight. So now I have to figure out something to eat.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

