Fml October 12, 2012

So here I am at 4:00 in the morning, afraid to fall back asleep in case my alarm system goes berserk again. I don't remember if I wrote about it when it happened last time, but previously it was caused by an obvious short in a wire that we found after enduring a night filled with excitement from the alarm tripping again and again. That was fixed, but tonight I wake up and realize my alarm is going off again in the middle of the night. We have heavy security doors and I couldn't hear it going off, at least not loud enough to wake me up.

It's always a little freaky to wake up to blaring klaxon and you don't want to go barging out into a problem situation. I wasn't too worried as my building is one of the most secure we have. I can't imagine any breaking in here and I figured its just another system problem. I get up, turn off the alarm, and talk to the guards. Turns out the alarm has been going off for an hour. I feel terrible to my neighbors because the guards check on everyone in the building in these cases. 2 minutes after I shut down the noise, it goes off again unprovoked, which probably means it will continue to go off at random times for the rest of the night.

And THAT is why I'm afraid to fall back asleep. I don't want to sleep through it and put my neighbors through that again. I don't particularly want to get woken up like that anymore because you wake up in such a state of high alert. It's too late for phone calls back to the states but to early for calls to Japan so here i sit. Sheesh.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. J-Man

     /  October 13, 2012

    You’ve been known to sleep through alarms!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

