Monday, October 8

This three-day weekend wasn't as great as the last as I spent most of the time curled up in bed. Friday night was a good time playing Scrabble with a bunch of people from work; I'm terrible at Scrabble but enjoyed it nonetheless as you end up spending time with people you otherwise don't see outside of work very much. Finished the night with a cigar and nightcap with a couple of friends on the roof, just taking in the city and enjoying the night.

Went to bed expecting to get up and go get ice for another batch of beer but instead felt like the ice was poured in my bed. Aches throughout my body, busted guts, and I knew I wasn't going anywhere. I bailed on the workout and ended up sleeping until 3:30. My neighbors had invited everyone over for a rooftop social and I felt okay by that time. I'd committed to staying up and watching the Oregon/Washington game with a friend here who is a huge Ducks fan, but if I hadn't slept so long I probably would have cancelled on that too. As it was, I made some coffee after everyone left the rooftop and felt half-way decent. Got home after the game intending to get up after about 6 hours for band practice only to discover that I felt like hammered shit.

I spent all day Sunday in bed or curled up on the couch (I even put a sweatshirt on, I was so chilled, the first time I've worn one in Africa). I was looking forward to staying up all night watching football and had even invited people over for bbq steaks but cancelled all of that. I went to bed early and slept late again today, finally feeling halfway decent. Even though today is a holiday I had a meeting (Nigerians were working!) and then went to the office to get ready for the rest of the week.

I'm still lethargic and feel like I don't have much strength. The worst part was not being able to take advantage of the weekend to talk to my girls. The network was crap though so even if I was in good condition I don't think I could have talked to them. I'm in bed early(ish) now so hopefully tomorrow will be good. I don't want to miss tennis tomorrow, for sure.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

