All good things must come to an end

The last 3+ weeks have been heavenly and I’m not looking forward to returning to the reality of life in Abuja, to be honest.  It’s really all just about leaving my family, but moving from a world where things just work to one where things just don’t makes it all the harder.  I’ve done a good job dealing with separation up to this point but reflecting on it, I’ve been riding a big wave of enthusiasm that broke when I took the job.  When I last left my family, we were planning to reunite in just a few weeks.  Now I’m leaving them behind and I expect it to be difficult to keep spirits up.  I’m a pretty optimistic person and haven’t had much trouble with morale up to this point and I hope that I can return to form soon after arriving. 

As a side note, I’ve come to realize that my writing skills have severely atrophied in the decade or so since I finished grad school.  I’m going to make a concerted effort to write more here but it means that I’m going to resort to writing more inane posts, probably with insignificant comments about what time I got up, the weather, what I ate, and how successful I was at choosing to exercise over relaxing in front of a screen.  I’m writing this stuff more for me and the need to increase my “words on paper” output and not because I think that its necessarily so interesting. I may make a new category just to help the 2 readers of this blog (Hi Dad, Hi State Department!) distinguish what’s worth reading and what’s worth skipping. 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Larry

     /  April 10, 2012

    Thanks for thinking of me, but I’m sure that I’ll read everything that you post!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

