Sweet Home Minamigaoka

It’s wonderful to be home again, almost 1 year exactly from when I left Japan and 3 months since I’ve seen my girls. I’d been in Nigeria for 8 months and a day and a break was needed. The trip was fairly uneventful, running about 32 hours door to door including travel to and from airports and the layover in Frankfurt. I was able to sleep for a couple hours on each end of both flights (6 hours from Abuja to Frankfurt and 11 hours from Frankfurt to Nagoya) and didn’t have any jetlag, surprisingly. I did get about 12 hours of sleep a night for the first 4 nights though.

Life here is great. It’s cold but not freezing, a welcome change for someone like me who appreciates all four seasons. The Eminent child finishes 2nd Grade tomorrow and has been on half days this week so I’ve seen a lot of her. She has been going to a short gymnastics class for the past few days and is probably going to start on a regular basis soon.

The food here is absolutely phenomenal, I have to say. The internet is stupefyingly fast and I geeked out the first few days just updating all the software that I wasn’t able to get downloaded in Abuja due to the slow speeds and frequent interruptions.

I am sensing that its going to be a tough transition back to Abuja life after this time home. I’m pretty good about dealing with the separation by distracting myself from it with friends, books, gaming, and so on, but life is just so good now, it’ll be hard to put it back in the box. The key for dealing with the distance is to not dwell on it, so hopefully I can get back into the swing of things quickly and not fall into a black hole of homesickness.

Unrelated but interesting note: With the weak dollar and effect of uncertainty in the global economy and Iranian sanctions, gas in Japan is about $8/ gallon.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

