Good fences?

They say good fences make good neighbors, but I can vouch for the opinion that good scotch makes for great neighbors.  Following the UN bombing, I really wanted to just relax with a glass of scotch and my neighbor let me raid his cabinet. The only scotch I found was a 15 year The Balvenie, Single Barrel and he insisted that it was okay if I opened it. It was absolutely perfect for the occasion.

I ended up making a dent in the bottle and he suggested I just take the whole thing and replace it when I get a chance. He revealed that it was a retirement present when he left the military, which really impressed me with his generosity. We also discovered that they had a 12 year Macallan that I would have been plenty happy with. Now I just need to find someone who will bring a bottle of scotch down with their stuff for me.  I’ve asked one friend but I’m already indebted to them for agreeing to bring my new Nikon camera down after it got turned away from overseas shipping (I’m guessing the battery violated a rule) and I may be pushing my luck asking for them to front me an expensive bottle of scotch.  I’ll figure something out, or maybe just give him one of my Lagavulin’s.

Actually, I think I’d better just find a replacement bottle.

I guess this is a good a place as any to mention that I’ve run into several people who have brewed, one of whom is departing the country in a few weeks and dropped off several cases of big bottles. They’re dusty but in prime condition with a few unique shapes and markings on them. There are even a couple Grolsch in there too.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Schuy

     /  September 9, 2011

    Hey Jerrod, it’s your neighbor in Accra–Brian passed on the link. Some of it sounds familiar–but wow, to be down the street from the bombing. Some welcome to West Africa. Are you doing IVs or DVs? Nice to hear someone else thinks it’s important to be a good diplomat on the line! I just got my POV so I get to try driving in Africa for the first time when I get gas tomorrow. Take care of yourself. We’ll have to plan a jaunt to Togo or Benin!

    Reply
    • Japansen

       /  September 24, 2011

      Hey there! Thanks for stopping in and saying hi. We only do NIV and ACS, IV is all Lagos. I still don’t have my POV yet but every day that passes is one day closer, eh? Togo and Benin sound good. Maybe an ELO conference sometime?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

